Accommodation

Olga & Maurits Karreman give you a warm welcome aboard. Our shipmate, the dog Noty, joyfully offer a paw! The barge “De 4 Vaargetijden”, which is a Dutch wordplay meaning “the four sailingseasons/sailingtides”, is a real old-timer. During 1998 it was completely renewed to address all modern passenger requirements. The barges new life as a luxury passenger cruiser started in 1999. Nevertheless, the ship still keeps its atmosphere from the old “freight-barge” days. Interior and decks are finished in traditional woods and brass style. De 4 Vaargetijden offers plenty of space to its passengers. Distributed among two decks one can find:

Lower-deck

This is where the four cabins are located, each one fully equipped with two spacious beds and large stowing area. A bathroom integrated with every cabin offers private shower, washing table and toilet. For your comfort the room is equipped with continental quilts and soft sheets on the beds, fresh towels, warm and cold tap water, electricity (220V and 24V) and central heating.   In the living room a large dining table offers space for guests and their ship hosts to enjoy the daily meals. Our guests better bring good appetite! Belgian cuisine is renowned, and offers lots of pleasant surprises. Comfortable sofas invite you to relax. The ships services include a library, television, music, board games,… as well as a mini bar on “honour” basis. A large stairway connects the living room with the “steering house” on the upper deck. A second stairway in the cabin area offers direct access to the outside deck.

Upper-deck

The steering house is the heart of “de 4 Vaargetijden”. Not only this is the spot to watch the ship manoeuvring through canals and locks, the large windows also offer a magnificent view on the passing countryside. Thanks to the ships central heating, this is the place to enjoy the trip Four Sailing Seasons long!   A wide door offers access to a spacious sun deck in free air. Easy chairs and tables can be used for an outdoor pick-nick on warm and sunny days. A few steps near the front of the ship lead to a cosy bench. This really is the first-row to experience both sides of the canal. Also perfectly suited for a barbecue on a hot summer night. Bikes, fishing gear and some open-air games make your vacation complete. You bring Walking shoes, binoculars or camera. And don’t forget your good mood!

Logement

Olga & Maurits Karreman vous souhaitent la bienvenue à bord. Et nos mascottes, les chiens Noty, vous offre une patte chaleureuse! La péniche « De 4 Vaargetijden », jeu de mot néerlandais signifiant « les quatre saisons de navigation / marées de navigation », est un vrai bateau de l’ancien temps qui a été complètement transformé en 1998 pour les besoins du confort moderne des passagers. La nouvelle vie de la péniche en tant que bateau de croisière de luxe débute en 1999. Néanmoins, l’atmosphère des bons vieux jours du transport de fret a été conservée. L’intérieur et les ponts sont en finition traditionnelle bois et cuivre. « De 4 Vaargetijden » offre à ses passagers beaucoup d’espace, réparti sur deux ponts:

Pont inférieur

Les 4 cabines sont entièrement équipées. Chacune comprend deux lits spacieux et des armoires de rangement. Une salle de bain intégrée se compose d’une douche privée, d’un évier et d’une toilette. Draps, couvertures et serviettes de bain sont fournis. Eau chaude, eau froide, prises 220V et 24V, chauffage central complètent l’installation. Dans le séjour, une grande table à manger accueille les passagers et leurs hôtes à l’occasion des repas quotidiens. Un bon appétit est recommandé! La cuisine belge est réputée, et réserve d’agréables surprises. Des fauteuils confortables vous invitent au repos. Les services offerts sur le bateau comprennent une bibliothèque, une télévision, une installation hifi, des jeux de société, … ainsi qu’un mini bar sur le mode « honour ». Un large escalier relie la salle de séjour à la timonerie sur le pont supérieur. Un second escalier partant de la zone des cabines permet un accès direct au pont extérieur.

Pont supérieur

La timonerie est le cœur du « de 4 Vaargetijden ». De cet endroit, non seulement il vous est loisible d’observer les manœuvres du bateau à travers canaux et écluses, mais les grandes fenêtres tout autour vous permettent également d’admirer à loisir le paysage environnant. Grâce au chauffage central, c’est l’endroit idéal pour profiter du voyage tout au long des « 4 Saisons de navigation ». Une large porte donne accès à un pont-promenade en plein air. Il est possible d’y organiser un pique-nique lors d’une belle journée ensoleillée. Des tables et des chaises y sont à votre disposition. Quelques marches à l’avant du bateau conduisent à un banc confortable. Ici, vous tes vraiment aux premières loges pour contempler les deux rives du canal. C’est aussi l’endroit idéal pour un barbecue lors d’une chaude soirée d’été. Des vélos, du matériel de pêche et quelques jeux de plein air complètent l’équipement mis à votre disposition. Vous-mêmes apportez de bonnes chaussures de marche, des jumelles ou un appareil photo, et surtout vous n’oubliez pas votre bonne humeur!